Getting two groups while sighting in bow. Help.

IdahoSkies

Jan 18, 2014
Southwest Idaho
I am new to archery. I'm shooting a Martin Magnum quest with a tru-glo sight and a fall away rest. The bow is new to me, but not new. 24 inch gold tips 400 spline, 100gr field points. I am a right hander and I'm using a trufire trigger release.

I am working on sighting in my bow and I consistently have the same problem, and it has resulted in a bunch of broken and lost arrows. I am essentially shooting two groups. Both are decent groups (for me) (a couple of inches, 1-3 in diameter) at both 10 and 20 yards. One group is pretty much spot on to my point of aim. The other is high and to the left. By about 18-20 inches at 10 yards.

When getting results like that with my rifle or handguns I know it is what I am doing, and not the equipment. Especially since it really is very consistent. Its one, or the other, and occasionally it will be a mix of the two groups. But always in those two spots.

When shooting firearms there are a lot of targets and advice that explain what is going (am I healing the pistol, am I jerking the trigger, etc). I have not been able to find that for archery.

So what am I doing to get a group high and to the left? Thanks for the help

Hilltop

Veteran member
Feb 25, 2014
Eastern Nebraska
Idaho, My guess is inconsistent releases, bad grip on your bow during releases, or a tuning issue. But there is an outside chance you have a couple arrows that are bad. Mark your arrows with a sharpie. Just put a number 1-whatever on the fletching and see if certain arrows are the ones going high left. If that isn't it, it is likely your release or how you are holding the bow through the release. Make sure you aren't gripping the bow tightly during release. Sometimes shooters torque their bow when doing this causing errant shots. Your anchor point also needs to be consistent to produce consistent results. Focus on centering your pin in the peep sight.