utah MRS in EBJ

gon4elk

Feb 21, 2011
Cache Valley, Utah
So being from Utah Im naturally interested to see what they have said about specific units and the quality. Take South Slope Diamond Mtn Elk. They listed the quality as "good" for the any weapon hunts. OK ill go with that, but on the following page they list the quality for archery and muzz as "Excellent". Hummmmm. How does that work? The quality of bulls changes from one hunt to the next? NOT!!! This is just one example, there are many more like this in the Utah MRS. Looks to me like They flipped a coin. As a resident I feel I know what to expect in these units but for the Non Res who relies on this info to plan a hunt wow in my opinion Eastmans really have come up short.

Last edited:

Musket Man

Veteran member
Jul 20, 2011
colfax, wa
I think the different ratings for different hunts in the same unit comes from the dates of the hunts, success rates, success on 6 point bulls, ect. Its not that the quality of bulls has changed but it it probably harder to find them on the rifle hunt.

marcusvdk

Veteran member
Dec 13, 2011
Michigan
I have to second what Musket Man. I think it's not that the quality of elk are changing its the fact that the dates of the hunt are different and have different success rates. So It might be "easier" to locate the elk during certain dates versus other based on rut, weather, moon phases, hunting pressure.....etc. all be it this is my guess not saying that for sure why the ratings are different.

Umpqua Hunter

Veteran member
May 26, 2011
North Umpqua, Oregon
The point gone4elk makes is on point and his specific example is a good one.