New to Shooting with both eyes open

ELR

Apr 6, 2013
MN
This summer was my first off season where I took the time to learn to shoot with both eyes open....I've made the transition fairly well in my opinion and one 3d targets and animals it's been great. But while shooting a block target at a dot, it's like I'm confusing myself with my pins and extra dots, or I'm seeing a dot on the target as a pin or something....I'm still hitting close to where I thought I was aiming but not perfect enough. Is this something that is common to struggle with or how do I fix it?

tdcour

Veteran member
Feb 28, 2013
Central Kansas
Similar thing happens to me. I started shooting with both eyes open during practice to fifty but have to close my other eye after that. If you are having a little trouble seeing everything clearly just slightly close your non dominant eye and that will help clear things up. I have also found that the harder I tell my mind to look through my dominant eye the more it helps

Fink

Veteran member
Apr 7, 2011
West Side, MoMo
Is there a particular reason to shoot with both eyes open? I just realized that I have no idea if I shoot my bow with one or both eyes open.

ScottR

Eastmans' Staff / Moderator
Staff member
Feb 3, 2014
www.eastmans.com
It's about situational awareness 1, and also about what is natural number 2. When you close one eye you are essentially flinching and if you can shoot with both eyes open it makes life a lot easier from that standpoint. Shooting with both eyes open has been something our military has started to teach snipers.

velvetfvr

Veteran member
May 6, 2012
Nv