Sausage?

Fink

Veteran member
Apr 7, 2011
West Side, MoMo
Anyone make their own sausage, specifically Italian sausage and bratwursts? I won't make any venison sausage until this coming fall, but I'd like to try my hand at making some of my own sausages, to learn the process, so I'm not wasting any game meat down the road.
For those that 'roll their own', are you using a commercial seasoning package, or making your own seasoning? Any tips/tactics to share, other than the obvious - course ground meat, keep the meat really cold, etc.. Soak the casings, no soak? I'm a total rookie when it comes to this, but store bought sausage grosses me out, and I miss really good Italian sausages.

go_deep

Veteran member
Nov 30, 2014
Wyoming
I've just pulled a bunch of different recipes off the internet, lessen the seasonings to 2#s and make them and try them. A few things Ive learned is it takes way more seasoning in sausages than you think it should for the right flavor, if your going to use beer use something that has a really strong flavor so the beer flavor comes through.

Work2hunt

Veteran member
Mar 2, 2013
St. Louis, MO
For hot Italian sausage I use Leggs Old Plantation Hot Italian sausage seasoning. I love it. When mixing with game I mix at 70/30, stuff it in natural casing or bulk pack in sealer bags.

buckbull

Veteran member
Jun 20, 2011
When I first started making my own sausage I found recipes off the internet. The problem I ran into is that I was buying a whole lot of spices that I may not every use again or may take years to use. I have now switched entirely to packaged kits. This provides already measured ingredients and probably fresher. I end up with better products with kits. Lately I have been buying all my kits from http://www.curleyssausagekitchen.com/. They have all been outstanding. I like the fact that you can buy 5, 25, and 50 lb kits. If I haven't tried a kit before, I buy the 5lb package. For tried and try I buy the 25 or 50 pound kits.

go_deep