Elk area 9 Deer area 76 Rifle

JPSeveland

Jun 8, 2014
Cheyenne Wyoming
I am new to wyomings hunting area and honestly just trying to figure out how the system works here. I am interested in taking my wife and brother in law to these areas to hunt deer and elk in early october. does anyone have any prefrence on the are or what would be a good respectable buck or elk for this area. Thank you.

Topgun 30-06

Banned
Jun 12, 2013
Allegan, MI
I assume you are talking about the 2015 season because you won't be able to hunt there this year. It's a General tag for elk and will have a lot of people in the NF because of that. It's a Region D tag to hunt that unit as a NR and both tags will need at least 1PP to have close to 100% chance at the tags, so buy a PP before 9/30 if you don't have any and if you only have 1PP I'd buy another one this year to make sure you get the tags for 2015. Also, be aware that at the present time there is a 3 point antler restriction on one side for a mulie because the deer herd is not doing well down there just like a lot of other areas.

Last edited:

ssliger

Very Active Member
Mar 9, 2011
Laramie WY
Elk hunting can be good, the deer hunting is poor. They are having meetings right now on what to do in the future. I am a resident so don't have to worry about points, 76 is a general license for residents. I would not waste points on the area for deer. If you really want to go you can send me a pm once you figure out what you are doing.

Hilltop

Veteran member
Feb 25, 2014
Eastern Nebraska