CO elk Preference Point, the "10 year requirement"?

Daybreak

Jan 21, 2012
Central Iowa
CO preference points?My search of this forum for an answer came up empty, but I bet it is here somewhere. The CO wording on preference points includes this statement:

?If you do not apply or hold a license for that species at least once within 10 consecutive years for a bear, elk, deer or pronghorn, your preference points for that species will be lost.? Later in paragraph it repeats "You must apply at least once in a consecutive 10 year period to keep your points"

The question is: Does applying for an elk preference point (with the PP hunt code) satisfy that requirement of "apply for a license", or do you have to actually apply for a certain area/season instead?

Words sometimes do not mean what they seem?.I know in some states that the ?act of buying a preference point? is considering ?applying for the species? to keep points active. Thanks much.

hoshour

Veteran member
I'm no lawyer and legalize doesn't always mean what seems to be plain. Still, I would certainly think so, but why not just apply for an out of reach unit every so often to make sure? If you call the hunt planner number they can probably tell you the answer or ask for the licensing department.

Daybreak

Jan 21, 2012
Central Iowa
Of course you are right...they have the answer, but today my hold times with both of those dept. you suggest were too long for my schedule....I waited too close to the April deadline & they're plenty busy. Thanks.

Catahoula12

Very Active Member
Apr 26, 2013
Colorado, was Az.
Just apply before the deadline. That way you are covered. Then, call the Ft. Collins number and ask your questions for future reference. Best of luck!!

Horniac

Jul 14, 2011
NorCal
CO preference points?My search of this forum for an answer came up empty, but I bet it is here somewhere. The CO wording on preference points includes this statement: