Best Broadhead

1shot7mm

Dec 26, 2013
I'm thinking about getting back into bowhunting , now that I have more free time. My archery pro thinks I should use a fixed-blade, cut on contact broadhead for elk. What are you guys using on elk???

BOHNTR

Very Active Member
Feb 28, 2011
Lakeside, AZ
I'm using a replaceable blade, cut on contact head. (Wac'em) Never failed me yet on an elk hunt. However, realize there are A LOT of quality heads manufactured today that fly consistently, are extremely durable, and very sharp. There is no "best" broadhead anymore.

Dan4Elk2

Feb 26, 2014
I agree with BOHNTR with lots of good heads out there. I can say personally "Slick Tricks" Broadheads are awesome! I have been using them for at least 5 years now. With no complaints at all! I use the Magnum style. I have taken elk, deer with them. They fly true with your field points.

HuskyMusky

Veteran member
Nov 29, 2011
IL
I've seen some lethal results from Rage 2-blade. The only expandable I'd consider using.

I was a muzzy guy for a long time, my dad uses the NAP Razorbak I believe they're called, 2 blade w/ 2 bleeder blades, cut on contact, with rotating technology, he's had some terrific results with it.

I'm sure there are a ton of great options out there nowadays.

No broadhead is going to fix a bad shot...

Retterath

Veteran member
Dec 24, 2013
South Dakota
i haven't shot an elk with my bow yet but many whitetails and a few mules and i have used for the last 10 years are the tried and true 100gr 3 blade muzzys

RUTTIN

Veteran member
Feb 26, 2011
Kamas, Utah
I shoot a Slick Trick Magnum, have been impressed with the holes and the blood trails. Before that I shot a Magnus Stinger 2 blade and never had a problem either, good luck in your search.

OregonJim

Very Active Member
Feb 19, 2014
Oregon Coast
NAP Thunderheads have been my brand for 12 years.