GoshenGrunter

GOSHENGRUNTER

Jan 8, 2014
Clermont County Ohio
Howdy! Been on here for a month or so and just saw this board. A little about me-

My names Jake. Im 27 and married to a wonderful school teacher (who is a killin machine...in training) ;-)

I grew up in Taylorsville, KY and began hunting in 1999 at the age of 13. Since then I've hunted mainly whitetails and eastern turkeys in KY and Oh. I was given a great opportunity in 2004 to take an apprentice PH internship with a large outfitter in South Africa where we hunted plains game, elephant, lion and rhino. That same year I won an essay contest through SCI and got to take a 10 day hunt to New Zealand. In addition, I have worked in taxidermy since 2001. I no longer do any professional work but I still enjoy tinkering and am fairly knowledgeable when it comes to the art. (questions welcome)

I moved to Ohio in 2006 and began guiding turkey hunters in 2007. I work as a part time Police Officer a Full time construction worker and do some contract work instructing firearms, ccw, and self defense . The last 3 years I've taken 3 black bear with some new friends in North Carolina. The biggest was a 270 lb bruin taken in 2013 but the most exciting was a 225 pounder boar taken at 4 steps in full charge in 2012.

I write for an outdoor website/webshow called fromtheblind.com Below are two articles from Africa and my black bear hunt in 2012.

http://www.fromtheblind.com/general-outdoors/the-hunt-of-ibhubesi/

http://www.fromtheblind.com/general-outdoors/a-bear-of-a-hunt/

2014 Will be my first ever trip out west and I must say I'm already bit by the "West Bug"

Thank you all for you help and advice. I look forward to many year on this site.

As a side note If anyone is ever planning a trip to hunt deer or turkey in southern Ohio or a safari in Africa- fire away at the questions and hopefully I can return some Guidance!