Straight vs. Angled Spotting Scope Eyepieces

captkirk1963

Mar 8, 2015
Washington
Hello, my name is Kirk and I am somewhat new to Eastmans forums. As I have only curiously pawed through the posts of others for the past few years, and this will be my first post. I primarily hunt elk and deer with a bow and a rifle in a variety of western states. Currently, I am trying to decide between a straight vs. an angled eyepiece in the Swarovski spotting scope line up, and all my previous scopes have had straight eyepieces. I have heard about some of some advantages and disadvantages of each, but I would like to know what others have found out for themselves and what work arounds they have employed while on a hunt to counter the disadvantages of each. Thanks in advance for your input.

JimP

Administrator
Mar 28, 2016
Gypsum, Co
It's all a personal preference.

I like angled but then I am 6'4" and by the time you get that tripod up high enough for me to see through it things get wobbly. At least with a angled one I can bend over a little to look through it. Granted you can stoop down a little for a straight one too but i can bend easier than I can stoop.

The difference would be if you are sitting where a angled one being a little bit lower than a straight eyepiece might be down in the grass where the straight one is above it.

Reactions: Colorado Cowboy

go_deep

Veteran member
Nov 30, 2014
Wyoming
I like the angled. When the wind is howling I can sit and keep it really close to the ground, plus the sitting position is more comfortable. Also my spotter can twist so when I use the window mount the angled spotter is easier to use from the seat of your truck antelope or late season cow hunting.

CODAK

Aug 8, 2016
Johnstown, CO