Mule deer broadhead

getoutthere

Jul 8, 2020
I'm sure there's been a thread on this before, but I couldn't find it. I'm a beginner archery hunter and I'm going to hunt mule deer this fall and I'm not sure what broadhead to use, fixed or expandable, and what have you guys been using. Or should I just go to my local archery shop and get what he recommends? Also he sells 340 grain arrows is that a good weight for mule deer?

nv-hunter

Veteran member
Feb 28, 2011
Reno
Check your states regs some place don't allow expandable and weight on arrows verys depending on draw length , shaft , and what arrow

Hilltop

Veteran member
Feb 25, 2014
Eastern Nebraska
I would go to your archery shop to make sure you are shooting the correct spine of arrow for your draw weight and length. Here is a link that can help explain what this means- https://eastonarchery.com/2014/07/making-sense-of-arrow-spine/

Both expandables and fixed will work great for mule deer. I personally like expandables as they tend to fly like a field point practice tip so you eliminate a bit of extra work tuning your broadhead arrow flight. Here is a link explaining that - https://shootingtime.com/archery/broadhead-tuning-compound-bow/

As you practice and prepare, feel free to ask questions. There are a lot of great people on here willing to help.

Reactions: Bonecollector

getoutthere

Jul 8, 2020
I'm shooting beman ICS Hunter classic 340. Can't remember for sure what draw length he set me at 29 or 29.5 I think

sleepingbear

Sep 15, 2011
Carson City
I shoot the same arrow and length at 66lbs, with 125gn head. As far as heads ive shot a bunch and you’ll get a hundred opinions. I am a cut on contact guy, but might shoot a hybrid if it flys well. Always shoot your broadhead to make sure your good.

CODAK

Aug 8, 2016
Johnstown, CO