Oregon Blacktail question

Alabama

Veteran member
Feb 18, 2013
Sweet Home Alabama
Hi guys,
I'm new to the forum but not new to hunting. I've been applying for Elk and deer for a couple of years in Oregon trying to build points for the future and I was just wondering if you burn your points by getting a centerfire western deer permit. I know you can get those every year without drawing so I was just curious. I love hunting big Mulies but those blacktails look fun (and tough) to hunt as well. Just wondering what my options were without having to pour over the regulations booklet.

Thanks in advance

Umpqua Hunter

Veteran member
May 26, 2011
North Umpqua, Oregon
I live in western Oregon, and hunt out of state every year. In 2009 with 16 points built up, I could draw any mule deer hunt in the state, and could have for several years. I kept waiting for some new special hunt to be opened (like a late rifle hunt in a prime unit), and it never happened. I finally decided none of the mule deer hunts were worth the points and burned them on a late Blacktail hunt. Now my strategy is to use my points to only hunt blacktails in Oregon, although this year, I will use them on a Columbia Whitetail, because I have never shot a whitetail buck, and I have access to prime private land.

There are FAR FAR better mule deer states. Colorado, Nevada, Arizona, Utah, Montana, Wyoming all have better mule deer hunting. I think Oregon should be thought of as a blacktail state.

The best blacktail hunts are the rut hunts, with dates near Thanksgiving being the best. To hunt these dates, there are draw muzzleloader hunts, draw rifle hunst (only one worth doing that I am aware of), and OTC archery.

Even rut hunting for Blacktails I thing is far more difficult than most other Western hunting.

Timberstalker

Veteran member
Feb 1, 2012
Bend, Or