My dad was a road hunter

Jdd2035

Sep 12, 2016
So, I am relatively new to hunting, I mean real hunting. See my dad (I think he tried his best) was intermittent during my youth in teaching me how to hunt and fish. In fact I can count on two fingers how many times we went hunting after getting my hunters safety license and both times was nothing but road hunting. I didn't know any better at the time but it was fun for most of it.

Any way getting back on track I turned 18 years old and joined the Navy and it was ten years later that I finally got back into the outdoorsy life. And I am apparently a blank slate. Any advice, tips, or tricks are welcome. Also this is my hello I'm new to EHJ Forums post so hi.

Vikingload

Jun 12, 2015
Powell WY
Where do you plan to hunt? What do you plan to hunt the most? The answer to those questions will help narrow the advice down. The one thing I'd say is read the posts around here, there is some solid info to come by.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

go_deep

Veteran member
Nov 30, 2014
Wyoming
Welcome! First tip start to hunt once you can't see the truck anymore. My dad didn't even take me hunting that many times when I was a kid, he just handed me a gun and said have fun.

Gr8bawana

Veteran member
Aug 14, 2014
Nevada
Welcome to the forum. Usually the farther away from the road you get the better the hunting will be. Lots of practice with whatever weapon you plan to use. If you're in an area you aren't familiar with don't hesitate to use a GPS of some kind. Have a pack of some kind to pack out your game when you are successful.
Good luck to you on your future hunts and be persistant even if it take a couple of season to finally connect.

hoshour

Veteran member
Welcome. I had the same experience with my father but it took me until my 50s to get back into it.