Mikes Knee

Jerry

Feb 21, 2011
Joseph Or
Question for Mike/Guy or Eastman staff.
I know that Mike had a knee replacement recently and was curious as to how he is doing? I am facing the same issue with my knee, but do not want to quit hiking the mountains. I would rather deal with the pain rather than having to quit chasing critters.
Was it a good thing having it done?
Has anybody else had to face this?

mattm

Feb 27, 2011
Moab, Utah, United States
I have a good friend that had both knees done last October. She had a tough rehab, but by New Years she was able to do a difficult 5-7 mile hike in Canyon Lands National Park. Before the surgery she wouldn't have been able to do this hike.

jughead

Mar 6, 2011
Alaska or Colorado or Nevada
I will be in that same boat next year or so...arthritis and having no meniscus in my right knee has taken it's toll. And while I can't offer my own personal experience, from a professional view point (I am a retired health care scientist) if your ortho doc says it is time, then it likely is time to do it. A second opinion may put your mind at ease.
Putting it off will make things worse. Once you decide to get it done, follow up with physical therapy. That is really critical.

Doe Nob

Very Active Member
Feb 21, 2011
Houston, TX
My father had total knee replacement a couple years ago. Within a few months he was getting around better than he had the last 15 years and said he just wished he had done it sooner. We spent 4 days in the NM mountains in October and he did fine. The materials and technology they have today are amazing.

Mike

Eastmans' Staff
Feb 21, 2011