Just bought a smoker

missjordan

Veteran member
Dec 9, 2014
Missoula, MT
Just wondering if anyone has tried smoking anything with deer or elk. Just bought a smoker and I want to test it out. I'm going to smoke some pulled pork this weekend and want to try an elk or deer next. What recipes and cuts of meat do you use to smoke both species? I'm very new to using a smoker but I'm very exicited to try something different!

Tim McCoy

Veteran member
Dec 15, 2014
Oregon
What kind of a smoker did you get? It is easy and fun. You can smoke about anything, for deer/elk etc. I mostly smoke sausage and make jerky. Turkey smokes well too. Some of what you can easily accomplish will depend on the type of smoker you bought. There are zillions of recipes on line. Most of my brines will be brown sugar, salt, soy sauce and garlic based. In descending order of amount used, the garlic is powdered, we like the soy garlic combo.

go_deep

Veteran member
Nov 30, 2014
Wyoming
uploadfromtaptalk1421895550393.jpg
Antelope and deer pastrami and some fish
uploadfromtaptalk1421895591257.jpg
Smoked elk roasts for sandwich meat.
uploadfromtaptalk1421895656063.jpg
Do small amounts of meat try a few different recipes till you understand when to pull the meat so it's not dry.

Last edited:

dead river

Mar 20, 2011
NC
I have 2 smokers and continue to learn with each time i get one out. The green egg i have was a present my wife got me after i had a lot of frustration keeping the temps up and constant with a Bradley biscuit smoker. I now pretty much only use the egg and I feel like i am doing what i wanted all along at this point. there are some awesome forums on just this subject and full of information.

Game meat:
I have done Nilgai, white tail, ferrel pig, duck, turkey and it works great on everything. I use a robust flavor chip on venison and everyone likes it. It is good with simple rubs. To keep it moist as much as possible, i always brine everthing, religously. It is a huge difference.