Idaho Units 27, 28

wapiti66

Aug 21, 2011
Kansas
This question is for a friend of mine, I'm trying to help do research, he has never hunted elk and is looking at booking a hunt with Middlefork Outfitters in Idaho units 27 or 28. My question is what is the wolf pressure like in that area of Idaho? I have no experience with Idaho and thought some of you guys more familiar may have some experience or knowledge of the wolves in this area and possibly know about Middlefork Outfitters? He is looking for a good backcountry hunt and knows he should go with an outfitter, not having any experience with elk hunting. Any thoughts or input is appreciated, I don't want to see him have a bad experience like show up to a place with no elk because of wolf pressure. He is looking at doing the rifle elk hunt in the rut, like sep 24th or something with the possibility of hunting mulies and bear at the same time.? Like I said, I don't know any season dates or specifics in Idaho so Im trying to scratch the surface. Thanks.

Musket Man

Veteran member
Jul 20, 2011
colfax, wa
I think the wolves have done a fair amount of damage in that area but how bad I dont know and I have never hunted the area myself. I been thinking about trying 27 for deer but I havent yet due to drawing other tags. Checking if tag numbers have been cut the last few years and how many wolves have been killed should give you some idea of how bad it is. Also see how many tags didnt sell. If there are alot of tags that dont sell it can be a sign the area is not doing well.

mntnguide

Very Active Member