Backpack Hunting Camera

RockChucker30

Feb 22, 2014
Tennessee
I wonder if the perfect backpack hunting camera exists???

I've been using a Canon Powershot G9 for several years now, and it does a great job most of the time. However, I don't like the canon battery it takes and wish I could just use the Eneloop AA's I use for all my other gear. Also, it does not accept a remote shutter release and using the self timer to take hero shots when you're alone is a serious pain. The old G9 now has a minor scratch on the lens and either needs to be fixed by canon or replaced.

So, what is the best camera for backpack hunting? For me that camera would have to meet several criteria:

- Lightweight and compact (probably a point and shoot)
- Great photos - must take magazine quality pics
- Preferably takes AA batteries
- Accepts external flash
- Remote shutter release capable
- Good for digiscoping

You guys know of anything that offers all those features? If not, what are you using?

woodtick

Veteran member
Feb 24, 2011
Jim Bridger County, Utah
http://tinesupstore.com/shop/scopecam-point-and-shoot-kit-canon-110hs/

This is the setup I use, I have both adapters for the 65 ATS and 15x SLC's. This thing takes stunning pictures-16 megapixels worth and awesome high def video. It doesn't use AA's though, which to me is extra weight compared to a spare battery for this camera.(extremely lightweight) If your looking for just the camera I think you can pick it up for about a $100 bucks, my buddy bought the ring and threaded adapter for this setup and purchased his own camera to use and saved a bunch of money. Happy shopping!!

hardstalk

Veteran member
Sep 13, 2011
vegas
No external flash option to my knowledge. But nails the quality photo aspect. Ive had 2 sony rx100's (wife lost one) and its definitely one to research. I wanted a do all camera and couldn't be happier. From video of the kid playing in a puddle to digi scoping i love it.

Cobbhunts

Veteran member
Jan 22, 2014
Kentucky