WY Elk Unit 38 or 45

roscoe

Oct 23, 2013
Never too early to start thinking about next year hunting season. I am 1 year behind max points and am ready to draw a Wyoming elk tag. looking at the bighorns and eastmans mrs section is pointing me toward units 38 or 45. not looking for any specifics just a unit # P.M. if you wanna keep it quiet or give any additional info. would also consider unit 117 as it is really close to home and I know the elk on the SD very well, just worried about finding elk on small amount of public land.

I am a DIY Public land hunter not scared too hike/hunt rougher terrain.

I am a SD resident and chase elk every fall in black hills unit H2 if anyone needs any info there P.M. me

jenbickel

Veteran member
Feb 22, 2011
Sheridan, Wyoming
www.facebook.com
That's a tough decision!! Both units are great units! I hunt 38 as long as I draw it. Lol there are some great bulls in the unit and I know it.very well. That's why I always choose 38. I have friends that hunt 45 and have great luck every year. If you decide to go with 38, let me know and I will give you some advice :)

buckbull

Veteran member
Jun 20, 2011
45 is a mucher tougher draw than 38. If it were me, I would do 45 with the points you have.

Eberle

Veteran member
Oct 2, 2012
Sasakwa, Oklahoma
In 2012 Unit 38 any weapon took 4 points 100% draw & archery took 5 points 60% draw.

In 2012 Unit 45 took 6 points 100% draw for both any weapon and archery.

2013 stats should be out in a week or two.

NDHunter

Veteran member
Feb 25, 2011
North Dakota
2013 draw odds are out. Looks like for the special tag you should be able to draw it. On the regular license, it will probably be iffy.

Here are my 2 cents (somebody correct me if I'm wrong): Don't get the type 9 tag for 45. If you draw the type 1 tag, obviously you can rifle hunt but you can also bowhunt there from Sept 15-30.

wapiti66

Aug 21, 2011
Kansas