Thinking about coming back

sigpros

Very Active Member
Aug 10, 2011
missouri
I haven't hunted Colorado for 18 years. I elk hunted there 6-7 times. My son is 12 and ready to go out west. My buddy and I have been hunting Wyoming for the last 8 years and it's getting tougher to put a hunt together every year. If a guy was wanting to look at an area for deer or cow elk what part of the state would you look in? I used to hunt out by Salida and don't know how the hunting is out that way now? I have never punched a tag in Colorado. Also what is black bear hunting like in Colorado? I have never hunted bears but my son wants too and I might have to learn a new species to keep us hunting out west. Not looking for anyone's honey holes just a direction to get started. I am still trying to figure out how the point system even works out there. Feel free to pm also

Thanks for any help

go_deep

Veteran member
Nov 30, 2014
Wyoming
I know Idaho, Minnesota, and Wyoming have over the counter bear tags, may want to look at Michigan UP also not sure if they have over the counter. I know Wisconsin is draw only. Northern Minnesota and UP have large sections of public land. Could apply for cow tags in a couple states and if you don't draw go bear hunting on an over the counter tag.

Colorado Cowboy

Super Moderator
Jun 8, 2011
Dolores, Colorado
Every state's point system is different. Some are pretty straight forward, others are pretty complex.
Basically in Colorado you can buy a point for a species or receive one if you apply and do not draw a tag for a species. There are variations like "weighted" points for certain species. My suggestion would be to narrow your search to a select few states and then get on their home page and start doing your research.

brian.320

Feb 27, 2011
Minnesota is over the counter in the no quota area but draw in the rest of state where there is more public land and more bears.

brian.320

Feb 27, 2011