Idaho Sheep hunting

muleyhunter92

Feb 25, 2011
Idaho
Anyone had a tag in the middle fork country lately. I see the success rates are down. Heard the herds had some die off. I have been putting in for the last eight years with no success. I've put in for 27-1, 27-2, 26, and 20a. Just curious if anyone has been in that country and seen anything lately.

mntnguide

Very Active Member
I drew 26 in 09'. As i worked in Big Creek for an outfitter i was there all season and about 2 weeks ahead of season scouting. It was a very hard hunt and the sheep were few and far between. Once season started i was guiding elk hunters so i couldnt hunt for myself much. I finally got a week right before the end of the season and was able to find a ram. Wasnt a big one, but with the amount of effort i put in i have no regrets on pulling the trigger. I did hear that in the 26 late tag, someone dropped a monster. I am not sure which 27 tag it is, but i know one of the head guys for the middle fork lodge, and in the past few years they have taken 3-4 rams for clients that scored between 166-178. Those guys know the country very well though, and put in lots of days scouting before hunters show up. In all, yes i believe the numbers are down and the hunt is hard. You would need to devote a good chunk of time if you want a quality ram.

mntnguide

Very Active Member