Please explain WY preferance points vs wait time

mgorm16640

Jan 8, 2016
Worland WY
I'm fairly new to hunting the west. I moved to AZ from PA 4 years ago and have been hunting as a resident of that state for the last three years. We got a job offer out here and I jumped on the opportunity to hunt the west. I have gotten Elk, Antelope, Deer and Javalina tags without a problem.

We are moving to Worland, WY this spring and am looking forward to being able to hunt there as a resident. Will begin buying PP there after I become a resident. I understand that I will be able to draw elk, antelope and deer fairly easily (non-trophy units) love filling the freezer. I am currently 39, what is the expected draw time for moose, sheep, goats or buffalo hunts. Is it worth me starting to buy points now, or is it to late considering I'm almost 40. The only reason I ask is that I have been reading recent posts about possible changes in WY law in regards to non-resident hunters and that it could take well over a person's lifetime for a non-resident to draw one of these trophy tags. I know that res vs. non-resident is different, but how long does it take a resident to draw one of these tags?

Colorado Cowboy

Super Moderator
Jun 8, 2011
Dolores, Colorado
I wouldn't buy any points now, because residents do no have points or a point system. Once you are a resident, you won't be able to use your points. Not sure about the point situation on sheep, goats, moose Y bison...res vs nonres. I'm sure you will get an answer from someone who is a resident and knows.

WY ME

Very Active Member
Feb 4, 2014
Wyoming