Pack Size

newguy220

Jul 12, 2012
Idaho
If your wanting to do 10 day+/- hunt what size of pack should I be looking for? I'm new to this style of hunting so I having a hard time getting a starting point to go with. Any advice, tips, or anything else would be greatly appriecated.

Thanks,
newguy220

BKC

Very Active Member
Feb 15, 2012
The high plains of Colorado
I would start at 5000 C.I. (if you go ultralight), and go up from there. 10 days is a long time livin' off your back.
BB is right about 10 days. I have horses and 10 days is a ton of time even with them. Do yourself a favor and plan for 2-4 1/2 day hunts. You will be better off and the day off will recharge the batteries

Bitterroot Bulls

Veteran member
Apr 25, 2011
Montana
BB is right about 10 days. I have horses and 10 days is a ton of time even with them. Do yourself a favor and plan for 2-4 1/2 day hunts. You will be better off and the day off will recharge the batteries
Excellent advice, BKC.

We don't do 10 at a time (very often anyway) when we are heading in on horseback either. "Recharge the batteries" ... I like that.

newguy220

Jul 12, 2012
Idaho
Can't do a short hunt, from what I can tell its going to be at least a week at once maybe two. My buddy and me drew bighorn sheep tags and from what I can tell the best way to do is to fly in, so it will be hard to do the short hunts, we might try to do a base camp also. We've never hunted like this so any tips and/or advice would be great, we've packed in before with horses so we are familiar with it, but we've never done it off our backs.

Thanks,
newguy220

BKC

Very Active Member
Feb 15, 2012