muzzle loaders

cacklercrazy

Feb 24, 2011
with all the different regs for the states out there what do you guys do. I'm new to muzzy hunting wanting to get my first riffle this year, but having a hard time figuring what I need and can't have on it. the states that I think I will be hunt are CO, Id, NM, UT in the future.

Drhorsepower

Veteran member
May 19, 2011
Reno, Nevada, United States
I put a spread sheet together and update it every year on muzzy regs. With the states you provided, I have found the knight disc extreme the best rifle for me as long as your purchase the western bolt kit.

With this setup, you can hunt states that do not allow 209 primers( like Idaho) then switch to 209 for other states. Also obviously scope come on and off.

Last edited:

Colorado Cowboy

Super Moderator
Jun 8, 2011
Dolores, Colorado
Colorado....no optics (magnification or electronic) fiber optics OK, No pelletized powder, no sabots. In-lines are legal, must be at least .40 for deer/antelope and .50 for elk/moose. Just some of the one off the top of my head. Go to cpw.state.co.us for all the details.

Probably should go to each states G & F website. Hope this helps some.

I have a TC Pro Hunter .50 cal.

Umpqua Hunter

Veteran member
May 26, 2011
North Umpqua, Oregon
Knight DISC Extreme is the best multi state rifle in production right now. As DrH mentioned, you will need the western bolt kit to hunt Idaho, in order to shoot percussion caps. You can scope this gun and shoot 209 primers in a state like NM. Here is the link:

http://www.knightrifles.com/muzzleloader-disc-extreme

Out of your list, CO and ID are the most restrictive in their regulations;

Last edited:

cacklercrazy

Feb 24, 2011
Thanks for info. I also see that cva makes a gun legal in the northwest. does anyone have experience with this gun and can it be changed over to 209 primers/

Umpqua Hunter

Veteran member
May 26, 2011
North Umpqua, Oregon