Lightweight 1 person tent under $150

hubba20

Mar 9, 2011
Southern Nevada
So I'm looking for a new 1 person tent that is under 3lbs. I know there are plenty of 1 person tents that are under 3lbs, but most of them are over $300 and since I'm a poor college student, i can't afford that right now. So i'm looking to keep it under $150...
Anyone have a tent that they have/are using and have had success with?
I've been thinking about the Eureka Spitfire tent, but I wanted to see what everyone else thought first...
thanks

ivorytip

Veteran member
Mar 24, 2012
SE Idaho
if ur willing to up ur poundage by one look into the backsider t-5. 3.88 pounds. awesome rain fly with this tent, to me it made the extra weight worth it. and you can find it on cammofire for 80 bucks.

tttoadman

Very Active Member
Nov 16, 2012
Oregon
Pretty tall request for $150. You will have to give up something. Either go floorless or fly/footprint if you are set on a free standing shelter. As long as you don't have to contend with bugs, you will be good to go. I have hacked up a low dollar small tent and got it to 3.1 lbs. I bought the tent on craigslist for $80. I bought 6 mini groundhogs and a small compression sack to put the fly and floor in. I have about $115 spent on this setup.

25contender

Veteran member
Mar 20, 2013
I have used this tent and for the money it has worked well. In fact I used it on a Elk hunt last year. It has good ratings great price and under 3lbs. It is a little tight inside but it is easy to setup and move when you have to. I think I pd $89.00 for one. Overall not a bad one man and surprisingly well made for the price. Oh and it rained two days in a row and everything stayed dry.
Eureka Solitaire 1-Person Tent

Mine set up last elk season.

Last edited:

hubba20

Mar 9, 2011
Southern Nevada