Hello and Thank You

NEWHunter

Jun 11, 2016
Brookfield, WI
Hi All,

My name is Matt and I'm 34 years old and live near Green Bay, WI. I'm just getting started when it comes to hunting out west and wanted to start participating in the forums after having spent many hours searching and reading posts over the last few months, hence the 'Thank You' in the title of my post.

The 'NEWHunter' handle is in reference to North East Wisconsin, where I grew up and currently live. I have been hunting whitetails and grouse since state law has allowed - which at the time was 12 years old in Wisconsin. I picked up turkey hunting and bow hunting in high school and I am self taught in those areas as my family traditionally only rifle hunted for deer. I spent the first 15 years of my hunting career on County and National Forest lands in northern Wisconsin so I am no stranger to public land, lots of hunters, and little success. I started getting in to the points game here in Wisconsin when I was 14 years old. Here in Wisconsin where I hunt black bears it used to take about 10 years to draw a tag, it is now pushing 20 years in Zone B.