AZ Late Rifle Coues recommendation for my wife?!?

Umpqua Hunter

Veteran member
May 26, 2011
North Umpqua, Oregon
Hi All,

I am an absolute novice when it come to Coues deer hunting but I do love to glass and have the tools to do it well!

My wife's good friend lives in Phoenix and I am considering taking my wife down for a Coues hunt over the Christmas break. She should be able to draw any late December tag in Arizona except for perhaps 22 and 23 and she would be very close to drawing those in the bonus pass. I have been researching, reading and listening to podcasts and have the areas somewhat narrowed down. I wanted to see if anyone had some intel they would be willing to share in a PM me to help me sort out the areas to apply for.

I am trying to stay away from the border units, which I know have the highest Coues populations, but my wife has no desire to hunt an area where illegals are a concern.

Thanks!

P.S. Looking for areas that are not overly physical, but hiking 2 to 3 miles is not an issue.

JimP

Administrator
Mar 28, 2016
Gypsum, Co
The border areas are not that bad as far as the illegals are concerned. I was down there twice in 36c and while we saw evidence of them we didn't see any. On our way out in 2017 we did see a smuggler fly over in a ultra lite on a drug drop but never saw him after he flew over us. They claim that they know that they need to leave hunters alone or the Border Patrol will be all over them. We did see a higher presence of patrols in 17 than we did in 16 but they could of just been doing a step up enforcement. In 2016 we did see a guide trucking down a wash checking things out and then the next day we found evidence of them passing through during the night.

The area that we hunted we started hunting at the 3 mile mark and one day did a 7 mile hike in. It wasn't bad in the morning with the sand in the wash being frozen or at least a little bit damp but that hike out was a killer.