Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 0 Times in 0 Posts

WY mule deer draw, preference point questions

I have been searching old threads but could not find an answer to my questions. Hoping that you can help. I am a non resident with 2 preference points for mule deer in Wyoming. Planning to acquire some more preference points but I would sure like to try to draw a random General Region tag to get out and hunt while gaining points. I do understand that preference points will reset to zero if I draw 1st choice in the preference point draw. Here is my first question: If I apply for a Random draw as a first choice, do preference points reset to zero with a successful draw? My second question is this: if you are successful in the Random drawing, as a first choice, can you buy a preference point in the same year that you draw?

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 1 Time in 1 Post
    There is no difference between the two draws, it's just that only a certain percent of the tags for a given area go to the random draw after the initial draw takes place. No matter what if you draw your first choice you will burn any points you have. You don't select which draw you apply for unless you're wanting to do the special draw vs the regular.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

3. The Following User Says Thank You to theddguide For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 1 Time in 1 Post
    You could put any area or region that usually takes several points as your first and then something else as second choice that may have a chance to draw that as a leftover, in which case you wouldn't use your points but also you'd still have a slim chance at drawing that random tag in the first choice for the area that took more points because after the initial draw all the other tags are given as randoms and are not drawn by the number of points a person has

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 24 Times in 2 Posts