Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sausage?

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 98 Times in 27 Posts

Sausage?

Anyone make their own sausage, specifically Italian sausage and bratwursts? I won't make any venison sausage until this coming fall, but I'd like to try my hand at making some of my own sausages, to learn the process, so I'm not wasting any game meat down the road.
    For those that 'roll their own', are you using a commercial seasoning package, or making your own seasoning? Any tips/tactics to share, other than the obvious - course ground meat, keep the meat really cold, etc.. Soak the casings, no soak? I'm a total rookie when it comes to this, but store bought sausage grosses me out, and I miss really good Italian sausages.
    My mind is a raging torrent, flooded with rivulets of thought cascading into a waterfall of creative alternatives.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to Fink For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 268 Times in 44 Posts
    I've just pulled a bunch of different recipes off the internet, lessen the seasonings to 2#s and make them and try them. A few things Ive learned is it takes way more seasoning in sausages than you think it should for the right flavor, if your going to use beer use something that has a really strong flavor so the beer flavor comes through.

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 120 Times in 23 Posts
    For hot Italian sausage I use Leggs Old Plantation Hot Italian sausage seasoning. I love it. When mixing with game I mix at 70/30, stuff it in natural casing or bulk pack in sealer bags.

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 29 Times in 6 Posts