Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 2 Times in 1 Post

Setting up a muzzleloader for Colorado elk

I'm new to muzzleloaders in general but a pretty decent rifle shooter. Planning on a Colorado muzzleloader elk hunt this year with a friend very familiar with the area. I bought a CVA Accura VR with 27" Bergara nitride barrel. It came with fiber optic sights. I would like to get good groups from a bench at 200 yards so I'm confident for a <150 yard shot in the field. I did some searching and saw several different recommended sight changes, See All, ghost rings, etc. I'll be contacting Thor to get a sizing pack to determine what exact size works best in my gun. Any other recommendations to start out with? I plan to leave it Colorado compliant at all times and use the same setup for our Wisconsin muzzleloader season.

Thanks in advance!

2. The Following User Says Thank You to Mud Farm For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 18 Times in 5 Posts
    Thanks for posting this thread; it may be a completely unrealistic plan 'b' option for me since I've got no points in CO, but I've been mulling over whether I'd want to try a muzzy hunt for elk someday in CO.

I have an older inline I grabbed years ago at an auction. Its a TC Thunderhawk .54 with middle of the road twist rate. I think with open sights and a full bore conical I should be street legal in CO, but am interested in how everyone tricks their muzzys out within the limits of the law.

Regards,

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337Z using Tapatalk

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 90 Times in 20 Posts
    I just use the fiber optic sights on my muzzleloaders. Most of my muzzleloader shots are well under 100 yds. I wouldn't hesitate to shoot to 150 yds. on a broad side elk unaware of my presence that's standing still. So I personally wouldn't worry about different sights unless your eyes aren't great. YMMV...