Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Eastmans' Staff / Moderator
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,658 Times in 1,214 Posts
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 174 Times in 83 Posts

Who Taught You How To Process Meat?

Admittedly, with two girls under two years old I have been bringing my meat to the processor the last two years due to schedule and time, etc. With all that said I have been wanting to fine tune my craft for when I start to do this again. Who taught you how to process?

For the most part I was self taught from resources like THIS. Other things like YouTube videos we did on the gutless method helped tremendously as well.

So just curious, who taught you and how much do you do yourself?
    www.eastmans.com
    blog.eastmans.com
    www.wingmen.us

Thanks
    Thanked 2,137 Times in 1,214 Posts
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 396 Times in 100 Posts
    My Dad taught me and I am also self taught making sausage, brats and jerky. I also don't cut roasts, just steak, bbq and ground.

I have a big commercial grinder I bought at a meat market auction. I also have a brat stuffer and sausage/burger mixer.
    Colorado Cowboy
    Cowboy Action Shooter; Endowment Life Member-NRA, NRA certified Range Safety Officer, Pistol Instructor, Rifle Instructor, RMEF, Boone & Crockett Club.
    The Original Rocket Scientist-Retired
    "My Father always considered a walk in the mountains as the equivalent of church going."
    Aldous Huxley

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 268 Times in 44 Posts
    Self taught, by a lot of trial and error. I do everything, had a bad experience with a meat processor about 20 years ago, told myself I could do as bad of a job as they did for free, and I likely a lot better over time.
    I'm not perfect but I do traditional cuts, along with different smoked meats, and mixed ground meats.

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 52 Times in 7 Posts