Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mountain Horses

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 0 Times in 0 Posts

Mountain Horses

Hey guys, not sure if this is the right area to ask this but a buddy and I are going to be getting into horses this year. We like the smoothness of Tennessee Walkers and seeing what everyone’s opinions are on Tennessee Walkers as elk hunting horses and as pack horses. We will be hunting rugged country in NW Wyoming. I don’t know if we could ride Walkers and use a mule or quarter horse behind the walker because we would be dragging the pack horses as the Walkers have a fast gait. Or should we just stick with QH’s or mules? Or can walkers pack very well as in ride a walker and pack a walker?
    Thanks for the input.

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 9 Times in 6 Posts
    I've had horses on and off for most of my life but I'm far from an expert so take my advice with a grain of salt. Get a big square assed quarter horse or something with a little draft mixed in. Your best resource would be to go to one of the local outfitters in Cody, take a look at their horses and ask them for their recommendation. I personally like a shorter stout type black hooved horse...about 15 hands tall although my favorite horse was a 16.2 or 17 hand saddlebred/quarter cross. White horses and white socks get scratches easier. Just my 2 cents.

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 30 Times in 6 Posts
    I had a quarter horse/Arab mare which I bred to a Tennessee Walker. The Walker was not as quick on his feet as the mare and not as good in real rough areas. Both were easy riders. Both would pack, but the walker was so tall it made loading him difficult. I think a well built 14.5 to 15 hand horse is tall enough.

Thanks
    Congratulations