Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 123 Times in 27 Posts

Stuck in a rut with archery- Advice Welcome

I was shooting last night and took a beer break and realized that I have been shooting a bow for 30 years.

I have shot about the same accuracy for the last 15 years.

I can take my bow outside and shoot a 8" group at 60 yards on any given day.

This is a hunting bow setup. Matthews Heli-m Gold tip hunter arrows spot hogg real deal 5 pin (.019)

Other than getting a 1000$ target bow and 150$/6 new arrows does
    anyone have any advise to take it to the next level?

Any target shooters out there have any advice?

Has anyone else felt like they have just topped out with their current setup?

Eastmans' Staff / Moderator
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,171 Times in 948 Posts
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 152 Times in 67 Posts
    Since you are a Mathews guy, my first thought is move up to a newer bow. They have made big improvements, especially in the speed/forgiveness areas. The Halon shoots great and I have seen the guys here bring groups at 60 yards in tighter, some beyond that distance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    www.eastmans.com
    blog.eastmans.com
    www.wingmen.us

3. The Following User Says Thank You to ScottR For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 484 Times in 63 Posts
    Practice at extreme ranges has helped me tighten groups up at the "shorter ranges". After a round at 100 yards, 60 feels so much easier. What rest are you using?

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Rip Cord Arrow rest

Honestly the best groups I ever shot in my life came from a Reflex Express set at 65 pounds with a HHA 1 pin adjustable and a bodoodle pro lite rest with carbon fat shaft arrows. I could hit a pie plate every shot at 80 yards. Loved that setup. Then I sold it cause I missed a huge buck with it. lol

Thanks
    Congratulations