Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 41 Times in 13 Posts

Smoker: electric or propane

Smoker: Guys I've been looking at the Masterbuilt smokers at Cabelas and Sportsmans Warehouse. I cannot decide on the propane or the electric. Asking for advise from folks who have them or have used both types. What would you get?

Thanks for the help.
    David
    NRA Life Member
    RMEF
    Montana Wild Sheep Foundation
    Boone & Crockett Club
    Montana Bow Hunters Association

"One loves to possess arms though they hope never to."
    Thomas Jefferson

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 205 Times in 48 Posts
    I have a Masterbuilt electric smoker and I must say I like it. It has a remote sensor that tells me the temp inside the smoker and the internal temp of whatever I'm smoking. I just roll it out of the shed and plug it in. No need to worry about whether I have enough propane for however many hours I plan on using it.
    The tray for wood chips is kind of small so if you need continuous smoke for a 12-16 hour brisket or pork shoulder it would be a pain to keep filling it every couple of hours. So far the longest smoking time I've used it for was about 6 hours so it was no problem.
    I have learned through trial and error that it is possible to over-smoke some meats.
    As far s the difference between electric or propane performance I couldn't tell you.
    Good luck with whichever one you choose.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0214161323-00.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	87.0 KB 
ID:	19292
    When all the trees have been cut down, when all the animals have been hunted, when all the waters are polluted, when all the air is unsafe to breathe, only then will you discover you cannot eat money.

Cree Prophecy

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Gr8bawana For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 1,904 Times in 1,092 Posts
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 312 Times in 85 Posts